- African American Newspapers: the 19th Century
Complete run of Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829 and many more 19th century African American newspapers. Includes text and images of papers.
- Black Studies Center: Newspaper Browse … Newspaper Search
Full-text of three African American newspapers: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975); the Daily Defender (1956-1975); and the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1994). Also includes The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) and Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Includes text and images of papers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes several late 20th century African American newspapers, such as the Tri-State Defender (1959-1989), the New Pittsburgh Courier (1959-present), and the Washington Informer (1979-present). Text only; no images.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 via Readex.
Browse the title list or use the search box. UNC has purchased full access to this title!
- List of African American newspapers in North Carolina. Many available on microfilm at Wilson Library's North Carolina Collection.
- Over 80 African American newspapers available on microfilm at Davis Library.
- Black Studies Center
Secondary sources such as Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the Black Literature Index.
- America, History and Life
Scholarly articles in all aspects of American history. Try this general search: blacks OR African Americans AND newspaper*
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Full-text of the African American National Biography. Also includes images (from various Oxford encyclopedias) and legal documents.
Browse books at UNC with these subjects:
- African American Newspapers
- African American press
- African American journalists
- Specific African American newspapers, like the Chicago Defender.
For even more books and microfilm, try WorldCat - and ask for tips!
Shauna Collier, Stone Center Librarian
Stone Center Library for Black Culture & History