Newspaper Articles Online
- America's News
Over 900 U.S. newspapers including 50 NC newspapers such as The (Raleigh) News & Observer, The (Durham) Herald-Sun, The Greensboro News & Record, and The Charlotte Observer. 1990s-present.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Over 1,500 regional United States and foreign newspapers, including 50 from North Carolina. News transcripts from TV and radio. 1990s-present.
- InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
Over 150 regional United States and foreign newspapers.
National and international newspapers, news transcripts from TV and radio, and company financial reports. 1980s-current.
Global news and business information articles. Includes Associated Press Daybook, Dow Jones Interactive, and Reuters Business Briefing. current.
- ProQuest Digital Microfilm (opens in a new window)
Full image of the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. Note: this is not searchable; you may only browse by date. 2008-present, with a 2-3 month delay.
- Click on "Click here to complete your authentication" on the next screen, then
- Click on Title Select at top left of next screen; select Year, Month, Date, and Page to see the full image of the page for the date you want.
- Each page will open as a pdf.
Alternative & Ethnic Press
- Alt-Press Watch
Alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, & other non-mainstream journalism. 1970-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. 1990-present.
Non U.S. News
Articles from 130 African news organizations and from AllAfrica's reporting team. Also includes documents and releases from a range of NGOs, governments and international institutions. 1996-present.
- Latin American Newsstand
Over 40 Latin-American newspapers and newswires. 1977-present
- LexisNexis Academic
Includes many major world publications.
- North Carolina News
Resources for finding North Carolina News, both current and historic.
- Historic News Online
Resources for finding newspaper articles online from mid-19th century to early 1980s. Includes NBC News.
- Google News search
Search Google for older articles. Coverage dates unknown. Some articles require a fee; please use Interlibrary Loan to obtain these at no cost! See especially UNC's access to The New York Times.
- Television News Online
Links to find TV News programs online, including full access to the NBC News Archives.
- Currently Received Newspapers @ UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries
Search for papers by location or browse by title.
- NewspaperCat (Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers)
Digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. Dates and coverage inconsistent, but worth a look!