Historic News Online
- Historical Newspapers (U.S.)
Full-text and images of several historic newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution (1868 to 1929), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), The Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986), The Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), The New York Times (1851 to 2 or 3 years ago), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), and The Washington Post (1877 to 1990).
Also includes many African American newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- America's Historical Imprints includes
- Early American Imprints Series I and II, over 70,000 printed works from 1639 to the 1820s.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, over 30,000 documents from 1639 to 1900.
- Accessible Archives
"Important American newspapers" from the 18th and 19th centuries. They include The Pennsylvania Gazette from 1728 to 1800; newspaper perspectives of the Civil War; several major African American Newspapers of the 19th century; Godey's Lady's Book from 1830 to 1855. 1728-1800; 1860-1865.
- Early American Newspapers
700 historical American newspapers. 1690-1900.
- NBC News Archives
Over 10,000 NBC News video clips in all areas & time periods. Tech Note: Create login from a computer within Carroll Hall. After that, use your NBC login & password from anywhere, including other buildings on UNC campus and home.
- Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
National, regional, and local 19th century British newspapers. 1800-1899.
- Times (London) Digital Archive
Full-text and images of The London Times. 1785-2006.
- Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive
Full-text and images of the Sunday Times. 1822-2006.
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
British news media from the 17th and 18th centuries. Includes full images of newsbooks, newspapers, pamphlets. More about the Burney Collection.
- Financial Times Historical Archive
Articles, advertisements and market listings of the Financial Times. Special supplements and the FT Magazine are included. 1888-2006.
- African Newspapers
Over 40 newspapers published in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others. 1800 - 1922.
- Latin American Newspapers
Includes Bolivia's Diaro (1904-1914); Cuba's Diario de la Marina (1910-1922); Peru's Diario de la Marina (1827-1832); and Venezuela's Universal (1911-1922). More dates are being added.
- South Asian Newspapers
English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, South Asian Newspapers offers extensive coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the Indian Subcontinent between 1864 and 1922.
Other Historical Resources
- AP Images
Current and historic images from the Associated Press. mid-19th century to 15 minutes ago.
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Citations to periodical literature, selected newspapers, books, U. S. government documents, U. S. patents, and British Parliamentary Debates. 1774-1920
- Search Newspaper Directory
Search or browse the directory of United States newspapers published in a particular place and time. 1690-present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to articles in popular, general-interest magazines. 1890-1982.
- Current Newspaper Articles Online
Resources for finding newspaper articles online from mid-1980s to present.
- Currently Received Newspapers @ UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries
Search for papers by location or browse by title.
- Google News search
Search Google for older articles. Coverage dates unknown. Some articles require a fee; please use Interlibrary Loan to obtain these at no cost! See especially UNC's access to The New York Times.
- Microforms Newspaper List, Davis Library
List of all the newspapers on microfilm at Davis Library. The Park Library has a lovely SCANPro 1000 microform reader/scanner converts microfilm articles to pdf for easy reading.
- North Carolina Collection-Newspapers by Year, 1736-1865
North Carolina newspapers available on microfilm at the North Carolina Collection in Wilson Library
- Selected North Carolina Newspapers Being Digitized
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center, housed at Wilson Library, is digitizing NC historic newspapers. Browse what they've already digitized; see what newspapers are going to be digitized in 2011-12.
Now available: The Pilot (Southern Pines), from 1920-1945