- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (2010)
Listings for print magazines, journals, newspapers plus radio and television stations and cable companies. Entries provide address, phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses. Broadcast media entries also provide owner information; networks carried; ad rates; and more. May download data to an .xls file.
- O'Dwyer's PR Services Report
Most issues include a specialization directory (fashion, sports, social media), which you can use to identify firms involved in those disciplines. Search for "O'DWYER'S GUIDE TO" and your topic. Also publishes rankings of PR firms.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Provides basic information, plus circulation data and reviews for many titles.
- Alliance for Audited Media (formerly Audit Bureau of Circulation)
Circulation Audit Reports, Publisher’s Statements and analysis tools for magazines and newspapers. Prior three years.
Provides basic business information for over 14 million companies. Data includes executives, financials, number of employees, and more. Does not include editorial staff info.
- Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. (2010)
Detailed information concerning nonprofit national membership organizations. Lists more than 23, 000 organizations in trade, business, and commercial; governmental, public administration, and military; educational; athletic and sports, and many more.
- Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local (2010)
Detailed information concerning nonprofit regional membership organizations. Lists over 100, 000 organizations as described above.
- Advertising Red Books
Directory of advertising agencies, including number of employees and ad revenue. Current volume available in Davis Reference at call number HF5805 .S714; older volumes in Park Library at HF5805 .S714.
- Bacon's Directories
Covers business media, radio, magazines, and TV/cable. They include a brief profile, contact information for the organization as well as key staff. These are not current but can be helpful for historic research. Some volumes available in Davis Reference; older volumes in Park Library.